Peter Francisco Memorial Scholarship

Awarding of the first Peter Francisco Memorial Scholarship

Awarding of the first Peter Francisco Memorial Scholarship.

The Peter Francisco Memorial Scholarship was established in 2013 by members of the Society’s Scholarship Committee. The purpose of the scholarship is to help a deserving student obtain higher education.

At approximately five years of age, Peter Francisco was left abandoned on the banks of the James River in City Point (now Hopewell), Virginia. He was a private soldier during the American Revolutionary War, serving in the battles of Brandywine, Germantown, Stony Point, Mifflin Island, Cowpens, Camden and Guilford Courthouse. Peter grew to fame in Virginia for his acts of valor on the battlefield and for performing feats of great strength.

U.S. history books once told the story of Peter Francisco; however, as time has passed, less is known about Peter Francisco and his contributions to the American Revolution and the independence of this nation. In an effort to preserve American history and the legacy of Peter Francisco, we, the Peter Francisco Society (formerly Society of the Descendants of Peter Francisco), have created this memorial scholarship in his name.


2013: Jennifer L. Walker - Buckingham County High School, Buckingham, Virginia
2014: Robyn L. Cotney - Springstead High School, Spring Hill, Florida
2014: McLain C. Faett - Douglas S. Freeman High School, Henrico, Virginia
2015: Lucas R. Beissner - Tabb High School, Yorktown, Virginia
2015: Edward A. Fortunato - Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology, Alexandria, Virginia
2016: Dakota J. Willey- Nature Coast Technical High School, Brooksville, Florida
2017: Chelsea E. Bickley - Louisa High School, Louisa County, VA
2017: Tyler W. Twiggs - York High School, Yorktown, VA
2018: Annie Cao - Grafton High School (Governor's School of Science and Technology), Yorktown, Virginia
2019: Tyler Belfield – Hickory High School, Chesapeake, VA
2020: Mollie C. Bowman - Douglas S. Freeman High School, Richmond, VA
2020: Davon Young - Phoebus High School, Hampton, VA
2021: Abigail Lindsey - New Kent High School, New Kent, VA
2021: Katie Stuart - North Kitsap High School, Poulsbo, WA
2022: Caroline L. Nguyen - John Randolph Tucker H.S., Richmond, VA
2022: Natasha E. D'Cunha - John Randolph Tucker H.S., Richmond, VA


Requirements for scholarship applicant:

Must be a U.S. citizen, graduating from high school in the current year.
Must be accepted to a college, university or technical school for the current year.
GPA – at least a 3.0
SAT - at least 1160
ACT - at least 24
Class Standing - must be in at least the top 20%

To apply for the Peter Francisco Memorial Scholarship, download and complete the application. The deadline to apply is April 15.

Word Version (Please save your application as a PDF before emailing)

PDF Version